Board Membership

NTPF Board Membership

Existing Board Membership

Patricia Byron

Patricia Byron

Patricia Byron has worked as a senior executive in the insurance and related financial services sector for over 25 years. She was the first CEO of the Personal Injuries Assessment Board (PIAB), an independent State body, established to reform a costly personal injury claims environment. As Chairperson of the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland she led a reform programme, focusing on business transformation and effectiveness.

As Chairperson of the Association of Chief Executives of State Agencies, she became actively involved in a number of cross- cutting public sector reform initiatives. Currently she provides consultancy services and serves as an INED & Audit Chairperson for the Central Bank of Ireland Commission, the Commission for Communications Regulation, An Bord Pleanala and the Department of Finance. Patricia is a graduate of UCD and a Chartered Insurer.

Dónall Curtin

Dónall Curtin

Experienced accountant, board director and business leader with background in Finance, Corporate Governance, Audit and Risk Management and who is a highly skilled with extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. Board directorships include Green Effects Investments plc, Arts Council, Office of Government Procurement, Irish College Leuven, Early Childhood Ireland. Founded one of Ireland’s leading accountancy practice.

An energetic, skilled and highly motivated business leader with a track record of success in reviewing and setting challenging strategic direction in a wide range of both commercial and not for profits entities. Served as President of Chambers Ireland, the country’s largest business membership organisation, with member chambers representing businesses throughout the island of Ireland. A strong advocate of ensuring that best practice and good corporate governance exist within the boardroom and ensuring relevant structures within businesses to facilitate adoption of organizational values throughout.

Don Gallagher

Don Gallagher (Chairperson)

Mr Gallagher has managed and served on the boards of a number of national and international insurance and wealth management companies. He is a Board Member of the Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman Council and Chair of the Finance Committee. Until recently he was Chief Executive of the Health Insurance Authority. Previous roles included Senior Vice-President and Managing Director of Canada Life Financial Corporation’s operations in Canada and Ireland/Germany and was later CEO of MetLife Europe dac.

Mr. Gallagher holds a M.Sc. in Management from Trinity College, Dublin and a B.Sc (Honours) Mathematics degree from the Open University. He is also a Chartered Director with the UK Institute of Directors.

Patrick Gibbons

Patrick Gibbons (Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee)

Patrick Gibbons has served as a Board member of the NTPF and as a member of its Audit and Risk Committee since he was first appointed in 2014, serving as Chair of the Committee from 2018-21.

A Solicitor by profession, Patrick is a full–time independent Non-Executive Director and serves on boards in financial services, the State sector and on a cross-border body, including on several Audit & Risk Committees.

Prior to that, Patrick spent much of his career specialising in legal and regulatory compliance, corporate governance and risk management in senior roles in a number of leading international financial services companies.

Sarah Johnson

Sarah Johnson

Sarah was appointed to the board of the NTPF in June 2021. She was formerly a partner in a Dublin law firm where she specialised in public contracts and procurement. As a solicitor, she advised clients on their statutory functions and related legal and regulatory issues, particularly in the health sector.

After studying law in Trinity College, Sarah completed a Masters in European Community Law in the College of Europe, Bruges. She also holds a Diploma in Mediation from the Law Society.

Terry McWade

Dr. Terry McWade (Chair of the Patient Care Committee)

Dr. Terry McWade was appointed as CEO to the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland in August 2019. He is also the CEO and Co-Founder of Valitacell, an early stage Biotech company. He previously held the positions of Deputy CEO in the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, CEO Exceptis Technologies, Principal in the Boston Consulting Group (London), and CEO of Servier Laboratories (Denmark).

He is a Director of the Institute of Banking and Former Director of the Corporate Governance Association of Ireland. He previously held the role of Deputy Chair of the Dublin Dental Hospital and Chair of the European Vaccine Initiative. He serves on the Audit Committee and Registration and Continuing Practice Committee of the Medical Council and is a member of the Board of Our Lady’s Hospice and Care Services.

He qualified in medicine from TCD, and holds a MBA (INSEAD), MSC (Healthcare Ethics and Law), and Diploma in Corporate Governance (UCD). He is an IOD Chartered Director.

Donna Roche

Donna Roche has extensive experience of over 40 years in the acute hospital sector both in Ireland, UK and the USA. In her last two roles she has managed two separate private hospitals in Ireland.

Since 2018, she is a Director on the Board of Cope Foundation, a non-profit voluntary organisation in the disability sector. She is the current Vice Chair of Cope elected in May 2021. She previously served as Chair of The Endoscopy Association of Ireland for seven years.

Donna is a graduate of UCC and UCD, she has a BSC in Nursing, an MA in Healthcare Administration and an MBA.

Martin Sisk

Martin Sisk

Martin Sisk is a Solicitor by profession but worked for the vast majority of his career in the area of regulation both financial and otherwise covering a wide range of sectors.

Martin served as Registrar of Friendly Societies for over 18 years and subsequently in a number of senior roles in the Central Bank of Ireland for over 7 years.

Since taking early retirement from the Central Bank, he has served in a number of roles including, inter alia, as Chairman of VHI Healthcare. More recently in the second half of 2020 Martin completed his term as a Board member of the Health Information and Quality Authority ( HIQA ).

Anne Stewart

Anne Stewart

Anne Stewart was appointed to the board of the NTPF in July 2017. She is currently the Head of Procurement Category Strategy at Ervia and has a 30-year career in Procurement across a number of industries at both a Global and Local level.

Anne received her Procurement qualification from Dublin Institute of Technology and is a member of the Irish Institute of Purchasing and Supply Chain Management.